Battery Powered

The formidable pitcher-catcher tandem of Kenny Rogers and Ivan Rodriguez were awarded Gold Gloves on Thursday. For Rogers, it was his fifth Gold Glove and fourth in a row. Meanwhile, Pudge brings home his 12th piece of defensive hardware. The full list of American League winners:

P – Kenny Rogers, Detroit Tigers
C – Pudge Rodriguez, Detroit Tigers
1B – Mark Teixeira, Texas Rangers
2B – Mark Grudzielanek, Kansas City Royals
3B – Eric Chavez, Oakland A’s
SS – Derek Jeter, New York Yankees
OF – Ichiro Suzuki, Seattle Mariners
OF – Vernon Wells, Toronto Blue Jays
OF – Torii Hunter, Minnesota Twins

In other news, GM Dave Dombrowski signed a much deserved four-year extension to retain his role through 2011. Obviously, with all the success the team enjoyed this year, it is no surprise that Dombrowski was given the extension. Even if the team had won 85 games, though, he’d still be plenty deserving.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: